PDA

View Full Version : Quiet forum - how many of us have teens?

Karen
10-13-2011, 02:31 AM
Just curious to know how many posters here have teens.
Karen

Bethikinz
10-13-2011, 03:02 AM
We have 3 teenage boys. They are 19, 14 and 13.

Prid5
10-13-2011, 12:01 PM
I'm brand new to the teen raising world! My boy just turned 13 a month ago. I thought raising toddlers was tricky, but wow...

KitchenerMom
10-13-2011, 12:11 PM
Sometimes it feels like Im raising a teenager but she is only 9. I am glad I have experienced Mommies to go to when she hits the teenage mark! :)

Shiraz
10-13-2011, 02:27 PM
I feel like a teen sometimes :) Just wondering what the "quiet forum", in the name of the thread, means.

Bethikinz
10-13-2011, 02:32 PM
I think she means that there's not many posts here.

ecomomma
10-13-2011, 03:33 PM
My oldest dd is 13, not too many issues so far.

Karen
10-13-2011, 03:37 PM

Yup. :)

Prid5
10-13-2011, 04:05 PM
ok mom's of teens. How do you keep the lines of communication open without feeling like you are prying or badgering? I will go into my sons room and ask him what's up, what he's up to, and the first thing out of his mouth is always "NOTHING" now. Really? Because I see you're reading or doing something on your computer or...Why say nothing when you're doing something?

My parents had minimal interaction with me as a teen. I turned out ok but I wish they had talked to me more, not as a parent, but as a friend. I want to be involved in what my kids are doing but I also don't want to be a stalker.

So, maybe I'm wondering, how do you get them to talk to you about everyday stuff. This isn't really something new with my oldest, he's always kept to himself, but I just feel that as he gets in his teen years, its even more important for me to keep talking...but I don't want to become one of THOSE mothers either. Maybe I'm asking the wrong questions?

KitchenerMom
10-13-2011, 04:53 PM